Michael Shaler II Memorial Basketball Scholarship

2009 Scholarship recipient Alex MacCormac pictured with presenters Will Soren and Kyle Peacocke

2009 Scholarship recipient Jordan Steeves pictured with presenters Will Soren and Kyle Peacocke

Michael was the third generation of his family to attend Everett High School. He was just coming into his own after many years of hard work to overcome a reading disability. He was known at a very young age for his work ethic, positive influence on others and pursuit of excellence. His self-confident leadership skills, combined with a strong work ethic had a positive influence on others from an early age.

Michael was doing one of the things he loved most, playing in a basketball game at Everett High School with teammate/friends when he died suddenly on December 28, 1998.

This scholarship is designed to honor Michael’s memory by rewarding two Everett High School student/athletes who most closely resemble the outstanding character attributes of this young man. The Michael Shaler II Memorial Basketball Scholarship is a fitting tribute to a young man who played every game with a desire to win and competed in a way that honored the traditions of the "School of Champions".

  • A graduating senior from Everett High School
  • A student who has participated in the Everett High School basketball program for 3 of 4 years.
  • A senior with a 2.0 or better grade point average
  • A student planning to enroll at a 2 year or 4 year college/university or vocational/technical school.
  • The applicant should also be someone who, like Michael, exhibited academic and athletic effort, arrived early and stayed after practice to help others or set-up and was a leader by example.
  • A student with an excellent work ethic and drive for success.
  • A student who had a positive and long-lasting impact on people he met.
Scholarship Recipients
2000 2001 2002*
John Richer Clint Bjella Garrett Elwood
Casey Price Tracy Webber Mark Hoekendorf
Bennett Johnson
*Michael’s graduating class

2003 2004 2005
Brett Sontra
Vesna Sophan
Michael Hudson
Tyler Levin
Alex O'Brien
Kyle Lampi
Jennifer Luatua

2006 2007 2008
Andy Blacker
Heather Campbell
Bryce Levin
Andrew Stiger
Brian Barhanovich
Rendel Jones

Alex MacCormac
Jordan Steeves

The Shaler family will determine the number of students eligible for this scholarship and the amount of the award to be given to each student. It is subject to change from year to year.

Home | About Blue & Gold Club | Membership | Financial Aid | Alumni | Testimonials | What's New
Merchandise | Support Blue & Gold Club | EHS Website | Scholarships